Special election for Markey’s seat - Daily Times Chronicle: Winchester

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Not you?||
Logout|My Dashboard

Special election for Markey’s seat

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, July 16, 2013 12:00 pm

BOSTON - Secretary of the Commonwealth William F. Galvin today issued a date for the December 10, 2013 special election for the 5th Congressional District called by Gov. Deval L. Patrick to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Senator-elect Edward J. Markey, D- Malden.

The primary election will be Tuesday, October 15, 2013.

Registered voters can apply in writing now at their city or town hall for absentee ballots for the scheduled primary and special election. An absentee ballot application form can be downloaded from the Secretary’s elections website www.sec.state.ma.us/ele. Click on “How to Apply for an Absentee Ballot.”

Candidates for the U.S. House of Representatives must gather 2,000 signatures of registered voters in the district. Secretary Galvin said nomination papers will be available at the Elections Division, Room 1705, McCormack State Office Building, One Ashburton Place, Boston.

Candidates for the U.S. House must be 25 years old, a registered voter, a U.S. citizen for seven years, and an inhabitant of Massachusetts when elected.

Nomination papers for the party primaries must be submitted to local registrars of voters or election commissioners for certification by 5 p.m., July 31. Certified nomination papers must be filed with the Elections Division of the Secretary’s Office by 5 p.m., August 14.

Non-party candidates have until September 17 to submit nomination papers to local registrars for certification and until October 1 to file them with the Elections Division.

The last day to register to vote in the 5th District primary is September 25. The last day to register for the election is November 20.

The 5th Congressional District consists of the Towns of Arlington, Ashland, Belmont, Ward 3, precinct 2A; Ward 4 precincts 2 and 3; Wards 6, 7, 8, 9; and Ward 10, precincts 1 and 2 in the City of Cambridge, the Towns of Framingham, Holliston, Lexington, Lincoln, the Cities of Malden, Medford, Melrose, the Towns of Natick, Sherborn, Stoneham, precincts 1A, 2, 3, 4, 5 in the Town of Sudbury, the City of Waltham, the Towns of Watertown, Wayland, Weston, Winchester and the City of Woburn in Middlesex County; the City of Revere and the Town of Winthrop in Suffolk County; and the Town of Southborough in Worcester County.

© 2015 Homenewshere.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Follow us on Facebook