Three-way race for mayor is now looming - Daily Times Chronicle: Woburn

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Not you?||
Logout|My Dashboard

Three-way race for mayor is now looming

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, May 2, 2013 11:58 am

WOBURN - A 3-way race for mayor is looming after three potential candidates for the city's top elected office took out nomination papers from the City Clerk's office on Wednesday.

Incumbent Scott Galvin, local businessman John Flaherty and former state Rep. Patrick Natale all drew papers the first day they were available from the Board of Registrars of Voters. If all three candidates become certified, there will be a city-wide preliminary election on Tuesday, Sept. 17.

The top two vote-getters will qualify for the ballot in the municipal election on Tuesday, Nov. 5. Candidates for mayor must obtain 100 signatures and submit them to the Board of Registrars of Voters by July 30.

Several other candidates for office took out nomination papers on Wednesday afternoon, including City Council incumbents Mark Gaffney (Ward 3), Darlene Mercer-Bruen (Ward 5) and Michael Raymond (Ward 6). Incumbent Patricia Chisholm also drew nomination papers for School Committee.

Alderman at-large and School Committee candidates are required to obtain 50 certified signatures, while ward alderman candidates are required to obtain 10 signatures.

Preliminary elections will be held if there are more than four candidates for alderman at-large, more than 11 for School Committee and more than two for a ward alderman seat.

There are five contested School Committee seats. The top two vote-getters earn 4-year terms, while the next three finishers earn 2-year terms. Rick Metters and Christopher Kisiel are in the midst of 4-year terms they won in 2011.

The following potential candidates have taken out nomination papers thus far:


John Flaherty

Scott Galvin

Patrick Natale

Alderman at-large

Michael Concannon

Paul Denaro

Richard Haggerty

Ward 3 Alderman

Mark Gaffney

Ward 4 Alderman

Michael Anderson

Ward 5 Alderman

Darlene Mercer-Bruen

Ward 6 Alderman

Michael Raymond

Ward 7

Charles Viola

School Committee

Patricia Chisholm

Michael Mulrenan

© 2015 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Follow us on Facebook