Ward 5 to see preliminary, race is on in Ward 3 - Daily Times Chronicle: Woburn

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Not you?||
Logout|My Dashboard

Ward 5 to see preliminary, race is on in Ward 3

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, July 31, 2013 2:04 pm

WOBURN - There will be a preliminary election for Ward 5 alderman on the City Council, and a two-man race for Ward 3 alderman, as the roster for the municipal election was set following yesterday's deadline to submit nomination papers.

James Fletcher Jr. was certified as a candidate for Ward 5 alderman, officially joining a field that includes fellow challenger Paul Muise Jr. and incumbent Darlene Mercer-Bruen. The preliminary election will be held on Tuesday, Sept. 17. The top two finishers qualify for the municipal election, which will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 5.

There will also be a preliminary election for mayor, between challengers Patrick Natale and John Flaherty, and incumbent Scott Galvin, who is seeking a third term. Again, the top two vote-getters qualify for the ballot for the municipal election in November.

In Ward 3, Michael Scire turned in his papers for alderman and will challenge incumbent Mark Gaffney. Scire had also taken out papers for School Committee, but opted to run for a seat on the City Council. That leaves seven candidates vying for five available seats on the School Committee: incumbents Patricia Chisholm, Michael Mulrenan and John Wells, and challengers Ellen Crowley, Joseph Demers, Stanley Malvarosa and Charles Viola.

The top two finishers in the School Committee race earn 4-year terms, while the the next three earn 2-year terms. Christopher Kisiel and Rick Metters earned 4-year terms in the 2011 election.

There are three other contested races for City Council seats that will be decided in November. Incumbents Paul Denaro and Richard Haggerty along with challenger Michael Concannon are vying for two Alderman at-large seats. In Ward 1, incumbent Rosa DiTucci is being challenged by Kevin Meaney, while incumbent Michael Raymond is being challenged by Francesco Recchia in Ward 6.

Running unopposed are Richard Gately in Ward 2, Michael Anderson in Ward 4, and Raymond Drapeau in Ward 7.

Candidates have until Aug. 15 to file paperwork to withdraw from the election. Residents have until Aug. 28 to register to vote in the preliminary election, and until Oct. 16 to register to vote in the municipal election.


John Flaherty

i-Scott Galvin

Patrick Natale

Alderman at-large

Michael Concannon

i-Paul Denaro

i-Richard Haggerty

Ward 1 Alderman

i-Rosa DiTucci

Kevin Meaney

Ward 2 Alderman

i-Richard Gately

Ward 3 Alderman

i-Mark Gaffney

Michael Scire

Ward 4

i-Michael Anderson

Ward 5 Alderman

James Fletcher Jr.

i-Darlene Mercer-Bruen

Paul Muise Jr.

Ward 6 Alderman

i-Michael Raymond

Francesco Recchia

Ward 7

i-Raymond Drapeau

School Committee

i-Patricia Chisholm

Ellen Crowley

Joseph Demers

Stanley Malvarosa

i-Michael Mulrenan

Charles Viola

i-John Wells


© 2015 Homenewshere.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Follow us on Facebook